Statehood for Australia’s Northern Territory

Posted: January 5, 2012 in Australian politics, Journalism
Tags: ,

My initial pitch concerning the two-and-a-half week trip I took the Northern Territory in August was on the issue of the NT becoming, perhaps, a state. It had struck me that race (with the NT’s high proportion of indigenous inhabitants) played a critical role, at least initially, in the top part of the continent never fully gaining statehood, and therefore the benefits that come with it. Always keen on the big issues (!), I wanted to see if that was still the case. Here’s the film I made for SBS Living Black.

And here’s the version which went on World News Australia. It’s quite different – dumbed down, you might argue – but I am proud of both of them. I shot and cut the pair, and think, ahem, that they look quite good. Both are shot on a Panasonic P2.

Leave a Reply

