The 13 March 1986 edition of The Sun, with the...
Image via Wikipedia

I experienced one of the most frustrating moments of my journalistic career last week. All to do with questions being out of bounds.

Max Clifford, Britain’s PR king, agreed to be interviewed by me for the start-up business news channel I work for, Entrepreneur TV. He’s a pretty nice guy actually (no, the spin didn’t get me, I swear); even after postponing twice due to being swamped with Jade Goody on his books, he still found time to reschedule (after Goody’s wedding, obviously).

The interview covers aspects of Clifford’s business life, from early days working with The Beatles, to building and running his own business. Unfortunately for me, questions on ethics in media were not on the agenda. Naturally, there would have been no interview if I’d had proposed them to his PA beforehand. I also didn’t get his views on the future for press manipulation in the increasingly multi-platform world (will people like him hold such sway in ten years?), but considering he  told me he doesn’t even use a computer, I figured it’s not his strong point.

All in all though a very smooth interview – and I’m quite sure he wasn’t quaking in his boots beforehand.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Comments
  1. Hi,
    Im really enjoying this site and am looking forward to more of your posts.
    Keep up the good work.
    Jamie

  2. Chris Code says:

    Oh. That Max (Public Death) Clifford!

  3. Mull Mifford says:

    Do you have any choice quotes for us Bill Code?

  4. RaiulBaztepo says:

    Hello!
    Very Interesting post! Thank you for such interesting resource!
    PS: Sorry for my bad english, I’v just started to learn this language ;)
    See you!
    Your, Raiul Baztepo

Leave a Reply

